2016-08-13

  • I grew up hating myself in the society I live in due to my own ignorance. As a child I didn’t think I could ever be worthy enough because I didn’t look like the women that the media glorified. It is important to remember that the media isn’t always accurate and that pop culture itself has constantly played on the heartstrings and self esteem of women. It’s to the point where it has divided us and we compete for a perfection that is impossible. As women we have always been told that we are limited with what we can and can’t do.

    That being said, I am honored to be alive at a time when we are breaking barriers. Thank you to the Simones for not letting assumptions get in their way. Don’t live up to the stereotypes. Be yourself no matter what society says.
    #girlpower
    #blackgirlmagic #selflove #rioolympics#mohaganygirlmagic #gold#dontliveuptothestereotype#simonebiles #simones

Like
