FullSizeRender

Hello to all of the newly naturals out there! You just did the big chop, and by now you may be wondering how on earth you are suppose to maintain your hair. After I did the big chop, I was bald, literally, completely no hair on my head so it took a few months to actually know the struggles of dealing with my hair. When I finally got a good decent chunk of hair on my head, I could not figure out how to make my hair look presentable. I spent hours admiring pictures of hair on Pinterest & Instagram longing to look as beautiful as the Naturalistas  I saw online.

If you are at this stage now, where it seems like all you can find are these filtered photos of women with perfect curly afros, don’t be discouraged. A majority of these photos are not realistic and I was actually shocked to find that so many naturals were using hair extensions to enhance the body of their hair. In my opinion it completely defeats the purpose of going natural. However, if adding extensions does more for your self confidence or fits the look or protective style you want then go for it. The point is social media is just another outlet that may cause new naturals to feel depressed about their hair.

To avoid some of the unnecessary disappointment, it is important that you learn how to get your hair to properly retain moisture. If you have type 4 hair, like myself, it may seem like a challenge getting your dry coarse hair to corporate. When I first started caring for my natural hair coconut oil was my go to. I basically drowned my hair in coconut coil every time I got the chance, and of course my hair soaked it up like it was a camel in the desert but refused to actually retain or store any of the moisture.

After researching a few protective styles, I was educated on the L.O.C. method. I wish I knew about this method sooner. Since I’ve starting using this with my daily hair routine, my hair has not only been able to retain moisture, but it has also become softer, easier to manage, and easier to style. The L.O.C. method consists of Leave In Conditioner & Water, Oil, and a moisturizing Cream or gel. In order to have the best results you must apply these products to your hair starting with the leave in in conditioner first, Oil second, and lastly the moisturizing hair cream.

The products that I used to create my L.O.C. Method Starter Kit are Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen Grow & Restore Leave In Conditioner, Organic Unrefined Coconut Oil, and Cantu Shea Butter Natural Hair Moisturizing Curl Activator Cream. I also purchased a small spray bottle from the dollar store. Please note that you do not need to thoroughly was your hair every day or even every other day. Initially, every time I showered I washed my hair but I am now I am attempting  to wash once/twice a week. By using the spray bottle, I squirt a little water to hydrate my hair everyday. This helps with retaining moisture but also avoids breakage.

Now that you have the keys to build your own L.O.C. method starter kit, you can begin your healthy natural hair journey with style.

